Waitangi day

Today New Zealand celebrate something called Waitangi day, or they also call it New Zealand day. I just heard about it this morning cuz its actually a public holiday, which means that we get payed 1 and a half salary per hour :) Luckily Im also working in the restaurant tonight so I will make many hours pay today.

But I googled on it to find out what it actually means. Today, 170 years ago, a contract called Treaty of Waitangi was signed. The contract made New Zealand a part of the brittish empire and gave the Maori right to their own land, and right of Brittish citizens. Its not much more to say about it. It is a day of celebrating happy memories in NZ. :) I dont think I will see any celebrations here, but I will see the money at the end of the week and even I will remember this day as a happy day.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0